“Don’t Ever Assume Love


“Don’t Ever Assume Love

Love needs to be expressed regularly and often; it should never be assumed. Husband, never assume that your wife knows “that you love her; tell her! Even if you told her yesterday, tell her again, today. She needs to hear it every day. Wife, don’t assume that your husband knows that you love him; tell him! Even though he may never come right out and say it, he needs that reassurance from you. No matter how tough and strong he may appear on the outside, he still needs you to tell him that you love him. We humans have a built-in need to be affirmed in this on a daily basis. Where love is concerned, there is no room for assumption. “In this, as in everything else, Jesus provides us with a wonderful example. Ephesians 5:21-33 teaches that husbands and wives are to relate to each other the way Christ and the Church—His Bride—relate to each other. Verse 25 says that “Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her.” This is a reference to His death on the Cross. In John 15:13 Jesus told His followers, “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. “Jesus’ death on the Cross for us was the greatest expression of love in history. Even so, Jesus never assumed that the example of His death alone would be enough to keep us assured of His love for all time. He knew that we needed daily reassurance. This is one reason why after His resurrection He sent the Holy Spirit to dwell in all who believed in Him. “As recorded in the Gospel of John, Jesus refers to the Holy Spirit as a “Counselor” or “Comforter” (see Jn. 14:16,26; 15:26; 16:7 KJV). The Greek word is parakletos, which literally means “one who is called alongside.” One important role of the “Comforter” is to “comfort” or reassure us on a daily basis of Christ’s love for us. This is what Paul was referring to when he wrote, “God has poured out His love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom He has given us” (Rom. 5:5b). For those who believe and follow Christ, the Holy Spirit resides permanently in their hearts and lives as a continual reminder of the love of “God. Jesus gives us constant reassurance of His love; He never assumes that we know it.

vision, purpose, destiny,

3 comments on ““Don’t Ever Assume Love

  1. What a wonderful reminder, to not “assume”. I’ve also found it to be important to “recognize” love as well. For example, when my husband chooses to “serve” me by getting up and making me coffee in the morning without being asked, or when he fixes dinner, or helps me with laundry, or numerous amounts of other things. There are times that he shows me his love with a servant’s heart, and I’ve found that it’s important to recognize that and to be grateful for it. To not “assume” that he knows I recognize and appreciate it, however, to verbalize that to him as well. That I thank him, I notice, I love him. It’s important that I also make sure I take the time to tell my Savior every day I love Him as well, doing so helps me to right my focus for the day, to humble my heart and make an effort to be pointed in the right direction before the chaos of the world tries to blow me off course. I really enjoyed reading this post, just a wonderful reminder.

Leave a Reply

